52nd Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

52nd Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards

The 52nd annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards will take place on Sunday, March 19, at 6pm at the Artscape Theatre in Cape Town. It promises to be an evening that is “Alive with Flair”.

Fleur du Cap Wines, who are the custodians of the Awards, will present their new “Alive with Flair” positioning throughout the evening. The wines that will be served on the night will compliment the guests’ unique contribution to the performing arts, whether it be through “sharing their flair, being flamboyant, suave or showing some Joie de Vivre.” Salt aficionado Craig Cormack’s theatrical ‘Tapas with Flair’ will add to the sensory experience of the night.

Multiple Fleur Du Cap Theatre Award recipient Matthew Wild will be directing the ceremony. He will be assisted by Jason Jacobs, also a Fleur du Cap Theatre Award nominated theatre director, published poet, and a recipient of the Theatre Arts Admin Collective (TAAC) Emerging Theatre Directors Bursary (2016), an initiative supported by the Distell Foundation.

In the space of two years wrote and directed productions like ‘Stof Rooi’, ‘Kalahari Swaan’ and ‘Splish Splash Splosh: theatre for young imaginations!

CapeTalk presenter and a member of the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards judging panel, Africa Melane, returns as co-host with the glamorous Cathy Specific. Well-known musical director Janine Neethling is choreographing the onstage entertainment that includes Zoe Modiga, African Angels, the Rudi Smit dancers and performances by various local artists.

Winners are chosen from productions performed at professional theatre venues in and around Cape Town. Theatre practitioners are recognised for their acting, directing,

staging and technical abilities. Winners receive a medallion and a R15000 cash prize.

Awards are considered in 20 different categories, including awards for the Lifetime Achievement and Innovation in Theatre. The recipients of the latter two will be announced at the ceremony.

A total of 86 productions from the year under review were eligible for consideration.

Guests can look forward to the culinary artistry of Chef Craig Cormack whilst enjoying a variety of Fleur du Cap wines.


* Follow the awards on Facebook at www.facebook.com/FleurduCap/ and on Twitter: @FleurduCapWines.