MTV Africa Music Awards to rock Jozi for the first time

MTV Africa Music Awards to rock Jozi for the first time

Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN) Africa and MTV Base (DStv channel 322) are once again set to highlight the “gold standard” in music, creativity and achievement at the sixth edition of the MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA).
The MTV Africa Music Awards Johannesburg 2016 will broadcast live from The Ticketpro Dome on Saturday, October 22, with 15000 music fans, artists, music industry insiders, media and more expected to attend.

MAMA 2016 recognises and rewards musicians and achievers who have made the most impact on African music and youth culture over the previous year. The sixth edition of the pan-African awards show will feature performances from South African Hip-Hop “game changer” Cassper Nyovest, Tanzanian Bongo Flava star Alikiba and fast-rising Nigerian Hip-Hop artist Ycee.
Also joining the ranks of performers will be the likes of Diamond, Emtee, Kwesta and Patoranking.

A highlight of the show promises to be a performance from award-winning Hip Hop superstar and MAMA 2016 nominee (Best International Act), Future. Following his performance at MAMA, as a bonus for fans the U.S. artist will stage an extra live performance, reprising fan favourites from throughout his recording career, from ‘Turn on the Lights’, to ‘Same Damn Time’ and ‘Stick Talk’.

MAMA 2016 will celebrate African talent across 18 award categories, including Best Male, Best Female, Best Song and Best Collaboration by Absolut. The contribution of artists from Portuguese and French-speaking Africa will also be recognised in the Best Lusophone and Best Francophone categories. Additional categories include the Africa Re-Imagined Award and Personality of the Year.


Your host Trevor Noah

“We are thrilled that the MTV Africa Music Awards will be taking place in Johannesburg, City of Gold, for the first time,” commented Alex Okosi, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Viacom International Media Networks Africa. “We are looking forward to staging the largest awards show in Africa, in one of the continent’s most vibrant cities. Noted for its exciting youth culture and rich music scene, Joburg will make the perfect backdrop for our biggest MAMA ever.”

“The sixth edition of the MAMA promises to be our biggest and most ambitious yet. All roads will lead to the TicketPro Dome for an explosive evening of spectacle and music, while millions of music fans will enjoying the TV broadcast. Our viewers are passionate about African music and achievement, and we look forward to channelling and conveying that passion to an international audience,” said Monde Twala, Vice President, BET, Youth& Music, VIMN Africa.

First staged in 2008, the MTV Africa Music Awards has recognised the talent of musicians, achievers and personalities from across Africa, rewarding iconic artists and gamechangers such as 2Face Idibia, Big Nuz, Cassper Nyovest, Davido, D’Banj, Flavour, Gangs of Ballet, HHP, Fally Ipupa, Liquideep, Mafikizolo, Lira, Nameless, Lupita Nyong’o, Clarence Peters, Diamond Platnumz, Anselmo Ralph, Sarkodie, P-Square, Tiwa Savage, Cabo Snoop, Toofan, Trevor Noah, Zebra & Giraffe, Uhuru, Wahu, Yemi Alade, and many more.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2016 will broadcast live on MTV Base (DStv Channel 322) and MTV (DStv Channel 130) on Saturday, October 22, at 21:00 CAT. The show will also be transmitted worldwide on partner stations and content platforms from October onwards, while MTV channels around the world will broadcast a one-hour MAMA-themed MTV World Stage.
Host and MC will be South African comedy superstar, Trevor Noah.

Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Live
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mafikizolo (South Africa)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Group
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Navy Kenzo (Tanzania)
R2bees (Ghana)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Toofan (Togo)
Best Pop/Alternative
Desmond & The Tutus (South Africa)
LCNVL (South Africa)
Shekinah (South Africa)/Kyle Deutsch (South Africa)
Timo ODV (South Africa)
Tresor (DRC)

Best Lusophone
C4 Pedro (Angola)
NGA (Angola)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Nelson Freitas (Netherlands/Cape Verde)
Preto Show (Angola)

Personality of the Year in association with DStv
Caster Semenya (South Africa)
Linda Ikeji (Nigeria)
Pearl Thusi (South Africa)
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best International
Adele (UK)
Beyoncé (USA)
Drake (Canada)
Future (USA)
Rihanna (Barbados)

Artist Of The Year
Black Coffee (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Female
Josey (Ivory Coast)
Mz Vee (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Breakthrough
Babes Wodumo (South Africa)
Emtee (South Africa)
Falz (Nigeria)
Franko (Cameroon)
Nasty C (South Africa)
Nathi (South Africa)
Raymond (Tanzania)
Simi (Nigeria)
Tekno (Nigeria)

Best Francophone
Franko (Cameroon)
J-Rio (Gabon)
Magasco (Cameroon)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Song Of The Year In Partnership With Google
Shaktibobo’ – Olamide (Nigeria)
‘Reggae Blues’ – Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria)
‘My Woman, My Everything’ – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria)
‘Godwin’ – Korede Bello (Nigeria)
‘Ngud’ – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa)
‘Roll Up Re-Up’ – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria)
‘Soweto Baby’ – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria)
‘Baddest’ – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga (South Africa/Nigeria)
‘Wololo’ – Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa)
‘Coller la Petite’ – Franko (Cameroon)
‘Unconditionally bae’ – Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania)

Video Of The Year
‘Jump’ – Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis
‘Caviar Dreams’ – AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi
‘If I Start to Talk’ – Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (South Africa); Director: Clarence Peters
‘Kisasi Kumi’ – Sheeba (Uganda) – Director: Sasha Vybz
‘Niquer Ma Vie’ – Youssoupha (Congo) – Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon

For more information on the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards, visit, or