Provincial Honours Awards: Call for 2014 Nominations

Provincial Honours Awards: Call for 2014 Nominations

The Western Cape Government has officially opened the process for submissions for the 2014 Provincial Honours Awards nominations.
Provincial Honours Awards are a platform to recognise people or institutions who have tirelessly offered exceptional services to the Western Cape. While the awards honour South African citizens, non-citizens also qualify to be nominated and receive an award.

Since 2002, 218 awards have been conferred. Some of the recipients of the Awards include former President Nelson Mandela, former Springbok Chester Williams, Archbishop Emeritus Desmond Tutu and former South African Swimmer Natalie du Toit, among others.
The public is invited to submit nominations of individuals or organisations who have made outstanding contributions to their societies. These submissions should be in by November 30.

The categories for the awards include:

(a) The Western Cape Golden Cross : for an exceptional achievement which has served the interest of the Province.

(b) The Order of the Disa: in the following three classes:

  1. Commander for rendering excellent meritorious service;
  2. Officer for rendering outstanding meritorious service;
  3. Member for rendering noteworthy meritorious service, in the interest of the Province;

(c) The Premier’s Commendation Certificate

Nominations can be submitted online at: Nominations can also be faxed, hand delivered and emailed. All the links and information are available on the website provided.
The Western Cape Government encourages all members of the public to participate and submit their nominations. This is a great opportunity to recognise and acknowledge some of the hardest working people in the province.