Spectacular line up for 2013 CT jazz fest

Spectacular line up for 2013 CT jazz fest

espAfrika, organiser of the Cape Town International Jazz Festival (CTIJF) has announced the addition of three new acts for the 14th chapter of the international music event, now billed as Africa’s biggest and best.

In addition to the more than 37 artists already announced for the 14th CTIJF, an excited Festival Director and espAfrika CEO Rashid Lombard has said that the Dainius Pulauskas Group, Portico Quartet and Cape Town band PHFAT will also take to the stage at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) on the weekend of Friday and Saturday, April 5 and 6.
The announcement completes the full line-up for this year’s festival, which will see some 41 artists from countries across the world as well as from within South Africa descend on Cape Town for this year’s event.

The Dainius Pulauskas Group is one of the most influential and active Lithuanian jazz outfits and considered to be the ambassadors of Lithuanian jazz. Jazz critic Jan Patterson described the group as a “unique sextet whose mixture of melody and muscle, lyricism and the unexpected, places it firmly at the forefront of progressive European jazz-fusion”.

London Portico Quartet is acclaimed for their distinctive sound created by the use of the 21st century percussion instrument called the hang. Due to release a new album this month, Portico Quartet, set to perform on the Moses Molelekwa stage, is known for taking their audiences on an electro-acoustic-ambient music journey like never before. Their music has been described as strange, beautiful, cinematic and futuristic.

Rapidly growing in popularity is PHFAT, a three-piece band from Cape Town that produces a unique blend of psychedelic, bass and rap music, will perform on the Bassline stage. PHFAT cut their teeth at local gigs such as Splashy Fen and Oppikoppi, releasing their first album in 2011. Nominated for Best Dance Video at this year’s MK Awards, PHFAT were awarded a MK MVP for their hit single ‘City Of Thieves’, which is currently number one on MK Top 10.
An exciting addition to this year’s music celebration will come in the form of top DJs who will work their recorded music mixing and blending skills on two stages at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) during the festival.

Some of the artists already confirmed for the 14th chapter of the festival include Afrika Mkhize (South Africa), Auriol Hays (South Africa), Ben Sharpa and Pure Solid (South Africa), Buena Vista Social Club featuring Omara Portuondo (Cuba), Brand New Heavies (UK), Brother Ali (USA), CéU (Brazil), Chano Domínguez (Spain), Chef’Special (Netherlands), Cheikh Lô (Senegal), Claire Phillips (South Africa), Errol Dyers (South Africa), Gregory Porter (USA), Jean-Luc Ponty (France), Jill Scott (USA) and Jimmy Dludlu (South Africa).

* For more information, visit www.capetownjazzfest.com.